Legislative Update and Advocacy

New Mathematics Course Development

The course development committee for Algebraic Reasoning has made revisions to the draft based on the feedback they received from the State Board of Education (SBOE) meeting in September. We expect this course to go before the SBOE for first reading and filing authorization in February 2015. See the draft here.

Results of 2014 SBOE Election

In November 2014, we elected several new members to the State Board of Education. All members, 1 new and 14 returning, are listed below. These members' term of office begins January 1, 2015. You may contact any of these members with this email sboesupport@tea.state.tx.us. Be sure to identify your SBOE member. 

District Number SBOE Member New?
1 Ms. Dominguez Returning
2 Mr. Cortez, Jr. Returning
3 Ms. Perez Returning
4 Mr. Allen, Jr. Returning
5 Mr. Mercer Returning
6 Ms. Bahorich Returning
7 Mr. Bradley Returning
8 Ms. Cargill Returning
9 Mr. Ratliff Returning
10 Mr. Maynard Returning
11 Ms. Hardy Returning
12 Ms. Miller Returning
13 Ms. Beltran Returning
14 Ms. Melton Returning
15 Mr. Rowley Returning

TEA Commissioner

The Commissioner of Education, Michael L. Williams, took office September 1, 2012. Quoting from the Texas Education Agency's press release on this appointment, "The son of public school teachers (who earned degrees in math) and the husband of a mechanical engineer, Williams is the creator and co-sponsor of “Winnovators,” a summer camp for 6th through 12th graders to help inspire the next generation of scientists, technologists, engineers and mathematicians."

Texas Legislature

The legislative session is due to begin in January 2015. There have already been changes to the house and senate education committee chairs as well as the committees. At this time bills have been filed, but until the session begins it is too early to tell what will come from the new leadership.